First Ever B&P Big Ass Global Chat on Saturday

The First Ever  B&P Big Ass Global Chat will take place this Saturday, December 11th at 9 AM Eastern Standard Time (US).  That’s 8 AM for me here in St. Louis.

After discussing with a few B&Pers we decided to try to see how many loyal readers we can gather together at one time in a global chatroom.  We ended up picking Saturday morning because it will be easier for those down under to be up very early on Sunday morning (their time) than a Monday morning.

A few time zone comparisons:  8 AM in St. Louis on Saturday is:

  • BAGC logoHawaii 4:00 AM
  • California 6:00 AM
  • New York 9:00 AM
  • Ireland 2:00 PM
  • Sweden 3:00 PM
  • Saudi Arabia 5:00 PM
  • India 7:30 PM
  • Thailand 9:00 PM
  • Hong Kong 10:00 PM
  • Japan 11:00 PM
  • Victoria Australia 1:00 AM (Sunday)
  • New Zealand  3:00 AM (Sunday)

The chatroom allows webcams so put on your pants and crank up your webcam.

To enter the chatroom click on the following link on Saturday morning….

http://tinychat.com/bitsandpieces

0

Elizabeth Edwards dead at 61

Elizabeth Edwards was many things to many people: a beloved mother, a brave cancer survivor, a tireless advocate, a best-selling author, and a symbol of strength and resilience.

Her death at age 61 on Tuesday, just one day after announcing she would no longer be seeking medical treatment after six years of battling cancer, inspired an immediate outpouring of support from every corner of America.

President Obama and the First Lady expressed their sadness on Tuesday while praising Edwards for her work on health care and fighting poverty.

“In her life, Elizabeth Edwards knew tragedy and pain,” they said in a statement. “Many others would have turned inward; many others in the face of such adversity would have given up. But through all that she endured, Elizabeth revealed a kind of fortitude and grace that will long remain a source of inspiration.”

“America has lost a symbol of strength, hope, and humanity, a tireless advocate for health care for all Americans, and determined crusader for cancer cures,” said former President Bill Clinton in a statement. “Her children have lost a loving mother, her friends a wise counselor. My prayers are with them. She was a remarkable woman who dealt with the challenges her life dealt her with courage and grace.”   via

Just one day before she died she posted the following on her Facebook page:

“You all know that I have been sustained throughout my life by three saving graces – my family, my friends, and a faith in the power of resilience and hope,” she wrote. “These graces have carried me through difficult times and they have brought more joy to the good times than I ever could have imagined.”

“The days of our lives, for all of us, are numbered. We know that. And, yes, there are certainly times when we aren’t able to muster as much strength and patience as we would like. It’s called being human,” wrote Edwards.

“But I have found that in the simple act of living with hope, and in the daily effort to have a positive impact in the world, the days I do have are made all the more meaningful and precious. And for that I am grateful.”

Stephanie M sends along this video….

Multisource political news, world news, and entertainment news analysis by Newsy.com

0

Frank Feldman

A man walks out to the street and catches a taxi just going by. He gets into the taxi, and the cabbie says, ‘Perfect timing. You’re just like Frank.’

Passenger: ‘Who?’

Cabbie: ‘Frank Feldman. He’s a guy who did everything right all the time. Like my coming along when you needed a cab, things happened like that to Frank Feldman every single time.’

Passenger: ‘There are always a few clouds over everybody.’

Cabbie: ‘Not Frank Feldman. He was a terrific athlete. He could have won the Grand-Slam at tennis. He could golf with the pros. He sang like an opera baritone and danced like a Broadway star and you should have heard him play the piano. He was an amazing guy.’

Passenger: Sounds like he was something really special.

Cabbie: ‘There’s more. He had a memory like a computer. He remembered everybody’s birthday. He knew all about wine, which foods to order and which fork to eat them with. He could fix anything. Not like me. I change a fuse, and the whole street blacks out. But Frank Feldman, could do everything right.

Passenger: ‘Wow, some guy then.’

Cabbie: ‘He always knew the quickest way to go in traffic and avoid traffic jams. Not like me, I always seem to get stuck in them. But Frank, he never made a mistake, and he really knew how to treat a woman and make her feel good. He would never answer her back even if she was in the wrong; and his clothing was always immaculate, shoes highly polished too – He was the perfect man! He never made a mistake. No one could ever measure up to Frank Feldman.’

Passenger: ‘An amazing fellow. How did you meet him?’

Cabbie: “Well, I never actually met Frank. He died and I married his wife.

Thanks Gene

0

Sledge

SledgeWhile scouring the web yesterday for B&P, NB, and BoW, I ran across the word “sledge” two or three times.  It was used in reference to traversing across snow and ice.  I had NEVER heard that word used with that meaning before.  Sledge was always short for sledgehammer.  “Hand me that sledge so I can knock this kid off his sled when he flies past me.”

Sledge
A vehicle mounted on low runners drawn by work animals, such as horses or dogs, and used for transporting loads across ice, snow, and rough ground.

tr. & intr.v. sledged, sledg·ing, sledg·es

To convey or travel on a sledge.
Looking up “sled” I see it has basically the same definition and a reference to sledge. 
Sled
1. A vehicle mounted on runners, used for carrying people or loads over ice and snow; a sledge.
2. A light wooden frame on runners, used by children for coasting over snow or ice.
So I guess sled is short for sledge like sledge is short for sledgehammer.’
 
Sledgehammer
 
You learn something new every day.
0

You’re invited to a party … prank

B&P reader Sander writes:

Hey Jonco,
Remember awhile back when there was this gal’s Facebook invite where everyone in the world said that they were going to attend her event and she was all like, who are all these people?  Well I have the perfect event to “bomb” so to speak.


That’s my buddy’s event up in Minnesota.  He’s DJ Str8 Reppin (Vaughn Lovley) and he’ll be back in his hometown to party it up with friends and he wants people to invite everyone they know.  Being that it’s an open invitation where anyone can make reservations, it’ll be perfect for all my friends at bitsandpieces to flood this invite with reservations.  What do you think?  You think Bitsandpieces can pull this off and get thousands of reservations saying that they’ll be there?

Sander
You have to have a Facebook account to do this, but heck, why not?  I’m in.

Update:

The party invitation was removed.  The link no longer works.  I guess he was getting lots of responses and realized what was happening.  Good Work!

0